Only the Garmin Approach R50 is listed for outdoor use as well as indoors. At the prices we observed, the Garmin Approach R50 costs $995 less.
Side by side
| Specification | Garmin Approach R50 | Golfin IDRA II |
|---|---|---|
| Tracking | Camera | Camera |
| Detail | Three high-speed cameras | Two high-speed cameras with stereoscopic vision |
| Placement | Beside the ball | Beside the ball |
| Room depth (FOREference) | 13.5–15.5 ft | 13.5–15.5 ft |
| Stated ceiling | — | — |
| Spin | Measured | Measured |
| Ball data listed | 9 | 3 |
| Club data listed | 1 | 2 |
| Indoor / outdoor | Both | Indoor |
| Ball marking | Not required | Not stated |
| Display | Built-in 10-inch touchscreen; HDMI out to a projector or TV | — |
| Subscription | Garmin Golf membership (about $100/year) for Home Tee Hero's 43,000+ courses | Not stated |
| Weight | 9 lb | 15 lb |
| Price seen | $5,000 | $5,995 |
Highlighted rows differ. Figures come from each product's sources; room depth, distances and brightness are FOREference calculations using the same method for both.
Which should you choose?
Garmin Approach R50
Choose the Garmin Approach R50 if you also want to use it at the range or price leads the decision ($995 less).
Golfin IDRA II
Choose the Golfin IDRA II if you prefer its maker, seller or ecosystem — the published figures do not favour it.
Before you buy either
- Check the room: room size calculator and ceiling height calculator.
- Confirm what each seller includes — accessories, software trials and bundles change often.
- Read the limitations on each full reference page.
FOREference compares published specifications; we have not tested these products side by side. How we work · Disclosure