Room size: will the Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus fit?
The Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus sits on the floor beside the ball, facing the golfer. Camera units read the ball at impact, so the room depth only has to cover the golfer, safe ball-to-screen distance and a gap behind the screen.
| Dimension | What to plan for | How it's worked out |
|---|---|---|
| Depth, screen to back wall | 13.5 ft minimum · 15.5 ft comfortable | 1 ft screen gap + 8–10 ft ball to screen + 4.5 ft behind the ball for the backswing |
| Width, right-handed only | 11 ft minimum · 13 ft comfortable | Swing arc on both sides of the golfer plus the unit beside the ball |
| Width, left- and right-handed | 13 ft minimum | Centered hitting area so either stance fits |
Ceiling height for a full driver swing
| Golfer height | Estimated ceiling needed | Working |
|---|---|---|
| 5′6″ | 8′ 10″ | 66 in + 45.5 in × sin 45° + 1.5 in mat + 6 in margin |
| 5′10″ | 9′ 2″ | 70 in + 45.5 in × sin 45° + 1.5 in mat + 6 in margin |
| 6′2″ | 9′ 6″ | 74 in + 45.5 in × sin 45° + 1.5 in mat + 6 in margin |
| 6′5″ | 9′ 9″ | 77 in + 45.5 in × sin 45° + 1.5 in mat + 6 in margin |
What it measures, and how
The listing shows 14 ball parameters and 7 club parameters. Spin is read directly from the ball, which matters most for wedges and curved shots.
| Group | Parameters listed by the seller |
|---|---|
| Ball data (14) | Ball speed, Launch angle, Spin rate, Spin axis, Carry distance, Total distance, Hang time, Landing angle, Apex height, Shot direction, Roll distance, Side carry, Side total, Launch direction |
| Club data (7) | Club speed, Smash factor, Dynamic loft, Spin loft, Angle of attack, Face angle, Club path |
- Ball marking: Not stated
- Club marking: Not stated
Software, subscriptions and five-year cost
Software listed: ES Golf app, TGC 2019, E6 Connect and GSPro. Third-party simulator platforms named: GSPro, E6 Connect and TGC 2019.
| Cost item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Hardware (listed price) | $1,795 |
| Subscription | Not stated in the listing — check before buying |
| Third-party software (if used) | Priced separately by GSPro, E6, TGC or Awesome Golf |
Building a simulator around it
Side-of-ball units sit on the golfer's facing side, so left-handed golfers must move the unit to the other side of the ball — plan a hitting area and mat that leave room on both sides.
What else a full simulator needs
- An impact screen and enclosure (or a net for practice without course play) — see enclosures & screens
- A short-throw projector matched to your screen shape — see the throw calculator
- A hitting mat whose surface sits level with the unit, since it reads the ball from beside the tee — see mats & turf
How it compares
| Model | Tracking | Placement | Spin | Room depth | Price seen |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus | Radar + camera | Beside the ball | Measured | 13.5–15.5 ft | $1,795 |
| SkyTrak ST MAX | Radar + camera | Beside the ball | Measured | 13.5–15.5 ft | $1,695 |
| Square Golf Omni | Camera | Beside the ball | Measured | 13.5–15.5 ft | $1,599 |
| Bushnell Golf Launch Pro i (LPi) | Camera | Beside the ball | Measured | 13.5–15.5 ft | $1,999 |
Room depth uses the same FOREference method for every model, so the column is comparable; prices are the lowest listed by the lead seller on the date shown.
Fit check: Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus
Worked out from the seller's published figures and our stated room method. Confirm against your space.
- ✓Room depth13.5 ft minimum, 15.5 ft comfortable (1 ft screen gap + 8–10 ft ball to screen + 4.5 ft behind the ball for the backswing).
- iDisplay devicePC, iOS or Android
- ?Balls & markersNot stated; club: Not stated
- iSimulator softwareGSPro, E6 Connect and TGC 2019 named in the listing.
- ?Left-handed golfersSide-of-ball units sit on the golfer's facing side, so left-handed golfers must move the unit to the other side of the ball — plan a hitting area and mat that leave room on both sides.
Specifications
Each figure is labelled with where it comes from. Numbered references link to the source list below.
Published specifications
| Tracking technology | Quad Doppler radar with two high-speed infrared cameras[S1] | Retailer listing |
|---|---|---|
| Placement | Floor unit beside the ball, facing the golfer[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Indoor / outdoor | Indoor only[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Ball marking | Not stated[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Club marking | Not stated[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Spin | Measured directly[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Display | PC, iOS or Android[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Software | ES Golf app, TGC 2019, E6 Connect, GSPro[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Dimensions | 10.1 × 7.3 × 2.6 in[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Weight | 2 lb[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Warranty | 1-year[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Ball data listed | Ball speed, Launch angle, Spin rate, Spin axis, Carry distance, Total distance, Hang time, Landing angle, Apex height, Shot direction, Roll distance, Side carry, Side total, Launch direction[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Club data listed | Club speed, Smash factor, Dynamic loft, Spin loft, Angle of attack, Face angle, Club path[S1] | Retailer listing |
FOREference calculations
| Room depth (FOREference method) | 13.5 ft minimum · 15.5 ft comfortable | FOREference calculation |
|---|---|---|
| Ceiling for a 5′10″ golfer (driver) | 9′ 2″ | FOREference calculation |
Limitations to weigh
- Indoor use only.
Alternatives worth comparing
Where to buy
Our link opens this exact product page. Prices and stock change; check before you order.
Every link opens the product page for this exact model. We may earn a commission; it never changes what we publish. Disclosure
Questions buyers ask
Does the Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus work with GSPro?
How much room does the Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus need?
Does the Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus need a subscription?
Does the Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus measure spin?
Can left-handed golfers use the Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus?
Can the Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus be used outdoors?
Sources and verification
- Rain or Shine Golf — Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus — product page and specifications Retrieved 30 Sep 2026
FOREference has not tested this product hands-on. This reference is compiled from the sources above; our calculations are labelled and show their working. Last verified 30 Sep 2026. How we work




