Room size: will the OptiShot Orbit fit?
The OptiShot Orbit sits on the floor behind the ball, looking down the target line. A radar unit behind the ball has to see the ball fly before it hits the screen, so depth is the critical dimension.
| Dimension | What to plan for | How it's worked out |
|---|---|---|
| Depth, screen to back wall | 17 ft minimum · 19 ft comfortable | 1 ft screen gap + 8 ft of ball flight + 7 ft unit distance + 1 ft behind the unit |
| Width, right-handed only | 10 ft minimum · 12 ft comfortable | Swing arc on both sides of the golfer |
| Width, left- and right-handed | 12 ft minimum | Centered hitting area so either stance fits |
Ceiling height for a full driver swing
| Golfer height | Estimated ceiling needed | Working |
|---|---|---|
| 5′6″ | 8′ 10″ | 66 in + 45.5 in × sin 45° + 1.5 in mat + 6 in margin |
| 5′10″ | 9′ 2″ | 70 in + 45.5 in × sin 45° + 1.5 in mat + 6 in margin |
| 6′2″ | 9′ 6″ | 74 in + 45.5 in × sin 45° + 1.5 in mat + 6 in margin |
| 6′5″ | 9′ 9″ | 77 in + 45.5 in × sin 45° + 1.5 in mat + 6 in margin |
What it measures, and how
The listing shows 7 ball parameters and 1 club parameter. Spin is derived from club data rather than read from the ball, so spin-driven numbers such as carry on wedges and curve are estimates.
| Group | Parameters listed by the seller |
|---|---|
| Ball data (7) | Carry distance, Launch direction, Ball speed, Smash factor, Launch angle, Apex, Spin rate |
| Club data (1) | Swing speed |
- Ball marking: Not required
- Club marking: Not required
Software, subscriptions and five-year cost
Software listed: OptiShot Orion (included). No third-party simulator platform is named in the listing.
| Cost item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Hardware (listed price) | $749 |
| Subscription | Not stated in the listing — check before buying |
Building a simulator around it
Behind-the-ball radar is indifferent to handedness: left- and right-handed golfers hit from the same spot.
What else a full simulator needs
- An impact screen and enclosure (or a net for practice without course play) — see enclosures & screens
- A short-throw projector matched to your screen shape — see the throw calculator
- A hitting mat — see mats & turf
How it compares
| Model | Tracking | Placement | Spin | Room depth | Price seen |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OptiShot Orbit | Radar | Behind the ball | Calculated | 17–19 ft | $749 |
| Rapsodo MLM2PRO | Radar + camera | Behind the ball | Measured with marked balls | 16.5–18.5 ft | $600 |
| Garmin Approach R10 | Radar | Behind the ball | Calculated | 17–19 ft | $500 |
| Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 PRO | Radar | Behind the ball | Calculated | 15–17 ft | $500 |
Room depth uses the same FOREference method for every model, so the column is comparable; prices are the lowest listed by the lead seller on the date shown.
Fit check: OptiShot Orbit
Worked out from the seller's published figures and our stated room method. Confirm against your space.
- ✓Room depth17 ft minimum, 19 ft comfortable (1 ft screen gap + 8 ft of ball flight + 7 ft unit distance + 1 ft behind the unit).
- iDisplay deviceOn-unit display outdoors
- ?Balls & markersNot required; club: Not required
- iSimulator softwareNo third-party platform named.
- iLeft-handed golfersBehind-the-ball radar is indifferent to handedness: left- and right-handed golfers hit from the same spot.
- iOutdoor useListed for indoor and outdoor use.
Specifications
Each figure is labelled with where it comes from. Numbered references link to the source list below.
Published specifications
| Tracking technology | Doppler radar (Voice Caddie SC4 hardware)[S1] | Retailer listing |
|---|---|---|
| Placement | Floor unit behind the ball (radar looks down the target line)[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Indoor / outdoor | Indoor and outdoor[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Ball marking | Not required[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Club marking | Not required[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Spin | Calculated from club data (not measured)[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Display | On-unit display outdoors[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Software | OptiShot Orion (included)[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Ball data listed | Carry distance, Launch direction, Ball speed, Smash factor, Launch angle, Apex, Spin rate[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Club data listed | Swing speed[S1] | Retailer listing |
FOREference calculations
| Room depth (FOREference method) | 17 ft minimum · 19 ft comfortable | FOREference calculation |
|---|---|---|
| Ceiling for a 5′10″ golfer (driver) | 9′ 2″ | FOREference calculation |
Limitations to weigh
- Spin is calculated from club data, not measured from the ball.
- Needs a deep room: about 17 ft minimum.
- Warranty length is not stated in the listing we used.
Alternatives worth comparing




Where to buy
Our link opens this exact product page. Prices and stock change; check before you order.
Every link opens the product page for this exact model. We may earn a commission; it never changes what we publish. Disclosure
Questions buyers ask
Does the OptiShot Orbit work with GSPro?
How much room does the OptiShot Orbit need?
Does the OptiShot Orbit need a subscription?
Does the OptiShot Orbit measure spin?
Can left-handed golfers use the OptiShot Orbit?
Can the OptiShot Orbit be used outdoors?
Sources and verification
- Golf Bays — Orbit Golf Launch Monitor — product page and specifications Retrieved 30 Sep 2026
FOREference has not tested this product hands-on. This reference is compiled from the sources above; our calculations are labelled and show their working. Last verified 30 Sep 2026. How we work
