Room size: will the FlightScope Mevo (original) fit?
The FlightScope Mevo (original) sits on the floor behind the ball, looking down the target line. A radar unit behind the ball has to see the ball fly before it hits the screen, so depth is the critical dimension.
| Dimension | What to plan for | How it's worked out |
|---|---|---|
| Depth, screen to back wall | 17 ft minimum · 19 ft comfortable | 1 ft screen gap + 8 ft of ball flight + 7 ft unit distance + 1 ft behind the unit |
| Width, right-handed only | 10 ft minimum · 12 ft comfortable | Swing arc on both sides of the golfer |
| Width, left- and right-handed | 12 ft minimum | Centered hitting area so either stance fits |
Ceiling height for a full driver swing
| Golfer height | Estimated ceiling needed | Working |
|---|---|---|
| 5′6″ | 8′ 10″ | 66 in + 45.5 in × sin 45° + 1.5 in mat + 6 in margin |
| 5′10″ | 9′ 2″ | 70 in + 45.5 in × sin 45° + 1.5 in mat + 6 in margin |
| 6′2″ | 9′ 6″ | 74 in + 45.5 in × sin 45° + 1.5 in mat + 6 in margin |
| 6′5″ | 9′ 9″ | 77 in + 45.5 in × sin 45° + 1.5 in mat + 6 in margin |
What it measures, and how
The listing shows 7 ball parameters and 1 club parameter (the seller quotes 8 data points in total). Spin is derived from club data rather than read from the ball, so spin-driven numbers such as carry on wedges and curve are estimates.
| Group | Parameters listed by the seller |
|---|---|
| Ball data (7) | Carry distance, Ball speed, Spin rate, Smash factor, Vertical launch angle, Apex height, Flight time |
| Club data (1) | Clubhead speed |
- Ball marking: Not required
- Club marking: Not required
Software, subscriptions and five-year cost
Software listed: Mevo app. No third-party simulator platform is named in the listing.
| Cost item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Hardware (listed price) | $499 |
| Subscription | Not stated in the listing — check before buying |
Building a simulator around it
Behind-the-ball radar is indifferent to handedness: left- and right-handed golfers hit from the same spot.
What else a full simulator needs
- An impact screen and enclosure (or a net for practice without course play) — see enclosures & screens
- A short-throw projector matched to your screen shape — see the throw calculator
- A hitting mat — see mats & turf
Packages built around the FlightScope Mevo (original)
1 specialist-retailer package in our catalog include this launch monitor, from $400 to $400.
How it compares
| Model | Tracking | Placement | Spin | Room depth | Price seen |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FlightScope Mevo (original) | Radar | Behind the ball | Calculated | 17–19 ft | $499 |
| Blue Tees Golf Rainmaker | Radar | Beside the ball | Measured | 13.5–15.5 ft | $500 |
| Garmin Approach R10 | Radar | Behind the ball | Calculated | 17–19 ft | $500 |
| Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 PRO | Radar | Behind the ball | Calculated | 15–17 ft | $500 |
Room depth uses the same FOREference method for every model, so the column is comparable; prices are the lowest listed by the lead seller on the date shown.
Fit check: FlightScope Mevo (original)
Worked out from the seller's published figures and our stated room method. Confirm against your space.
- ✓Room depth17 ft minimum, 19 ft comfortable (1 ft screen gap + 8 ft of ball flight + 7 ft unit distance + 1 ft behind the unit).
- iDisplay devicePhone or tablet
- ?Balls & markersNot required; club: Not required
- iSimulator softwareNo third-party platform named.
- iLeft-handed golfersBehind-the-ball radar is indifferent to handedness: left- and right-handed golfers hit from the same spot.
- iOutdoor useListed for indoor and outdoor use.
Specifications
Each figure is labelled with where it comes from. Numbered references link to the source list below.
Published specifications
| Tracking technology | 3D Doppler radar[S1] | Retailer listing |
|---|---|---|
| Placement | Floor unit behind the ball (radar looks down the target line)[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Indoor / outdoor | Indoor and outdoor[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Distance behind the ball | 4 ft (wedges) to 7 ft (driver)[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Ball marking | Not required[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Club marking | Not required[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Spin | Calculated from club data (not measured)[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Display | Phone or tablet[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Software | Mevo app[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Battery | Up to 4 hours[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Dimensions | 3.55 × 2.76 × 1.18 in[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Ball data listed | Carry distance, Ball speed, Spin rate, Smash factor, Vertical launch angle, Apex height, Flight time[S1] | Retailer listing |
| Club data listed | Clubhead speed[S1] | Retailer listing |
FOREference calculations
| Room depth (FOREference method) | 17 ft minimum · 19 ft comfortable | FOREference calculation |
|---|---|---|
| Ceiling for a 5′10″ golfer (driver) | 9′ 2″ | FOREference calculation |
Limitations to weigh
- Spin is calculated from club data, not measured from the ball.
- Needs a deep room: about 17 ft minimum.
- Warranty length is not stated in the listing we used.
Alternatives worth comparing




Where to buy
2 specialist sellers list this exact product. Prices were observed on 30 Sep 2026; confirm the current price, stock and included items before ordering.
| Seller | Listed price | Type |
|---|---|---|
| Shop Indoor Golf | $499 | Specialist retailer |
| Golf Bays | $499 | Specialist retailer |
Every link opens the product page for this exact model. We may earn a commission; it never changes what we publish. Disclosure
Questions buyers ask
Does the FlightScope Mevo (original) work with GSPro?
How much room does the FlightScope Mevo (original) need?
Does the FlightScope Mevo (original) need a subscription?
Does the FlightScope Mevo (original) measure spin?
Can left-handed golfers use the FlightScope Mevo (original)?
Can the FlightScope Mevo (original) be used outdoors?
Sources and verification
- Shop Indoor Golf — Flightscope Mevo Launch Monitor — product page and specifications Retrieved 30 Sep 2026
- Golf Bays — Mevo Portable Personal Launch Monitor — product page Retrieved 30 Sep 2026
FOREference has not tested this product hands-on. This reference is compiled from the sources above; our calculations are labelled and show their working. Last verified 30 Sep 2026. How we work
