Camera launch monitor · Beside the ball

TruGolf Launch Box

TruGolf · indoor & outdoor · spin measured

The short answer

The TruGolf Launch Box is a camera-based (photometric) launch monitor that sits on the floor beside the ball, facing the golfer. It measures spin directly. Because it reads the ball beside the tee, it needs no ball-flight distance behind it — about 13.5–15.5 ft of depth is enough for a screen setup. Listed at $2,999 from Rain or Shine Golf.

Tracking
Camera
Placement
Beside the ball
Room depth
13.5–15.5 ft
Spin
Measured
Price seen
$2,999

Good fit if

  • You want one unit for the driving range and the garage
  • Your room is short — no ball-flight distance is needed behind the unit
  • Measured spin matters to you (wedges, shot shaping, fitting)

Look elsewhere if

  • You don't want to use marked balls or stickers
  • Left- and right-handed golfers share the room — it has to be moved between them
  • You want club delivery data (path, face, attack angle) for coaching
$2,999Rain or Shine Golf listed price (configurations to $3,499) · seen 30 Sep 2026

Every link opens the product page for this exact model. We may earn a commission; it never changes what we publish. Disclosure

Room size: will the TruGolf Launch Box fit?

The TruGolf Launch Box sits on the floor beside the ball, facing the golfer. Camera units read the ball at impact, so the room depth only has to cover the golfer, safe ball-to-screen distance and a gap behind the screen.

DimensionWhat to plan forHow it's worked out
Depth, screen to back wall13.5 ft minimum · 15.5 ft comfortable1 ft screen gap + 8–10 ft ball to screen + 4.5 ft behind the ball for the backswing
Width, right-handed only11 ft minimum · 13 ft comfortableSwing arc on both sides of the golfer plus the unit beside the ball
Width, left- and right-handed13 ft minimumCentered hitting area so either stance fits

Ceiling height for a full driver swing

Golfer heightEstimated ceiling neededWorking
5′6″8′ 10″66 in + 45.5 in × sin 45° + 1.5 in mat + 6 in margin
5′10″9′ 2″70 in + 45.5 in × sin 45° + 1.5 in mat + 6 in margin
6′2″9′ 6″74 in + 45.5 in × sin 45° + 1.5 in mat + 6 in margin
6′5″9′ 9″77 in + 45.5 in × sin 45° + 1.5 in mat + 6 in margin
FOREference calculationEstimated ceiling = golfer height + driver length × sin 45° + mat height + a safety margin. Steep, upright swings need more; test with a practice swing before you buy. Run your own numbers.

What it measures, and how

The listing shows 6 ball parameters and 2 club parameters. Spin is read directly from the ball, which matters most for wedges and curved shots.

GroupParameters listed by the seller
Ball data (6)Total distance, Carry distance, Ball speed, Spin axis, Vertical launch angle, Horizontal launch direction
Club data (2)Clubhead speed, Smash factor
  • Ball marking: Not required
  • Club marking: Not required

Software, subscriptions and five-year cost

Software listed: E6 Connect Home (PC and iOS). Third-party simulator platforms named: E6 Connect.

Cost itemAmount
Hardware (listed price)$2,999
SubscriptionNot stated in the listing — check before buying
Third-party software (if used)Priced separately by GSPro, E6, TGC or Awesome Golf
FOREference calculationFive-year total = listed hardware price + 5 × the listed annual plan. Excludes tax, a PC, the screen and enclosure. Build your full five-year budget.
Practical noteStated PC requirement: Intel i5, 8 GB RAM, NVIDIA GTX 1070 or equivalent. See simulator PCs.

Building a simulator around it

Side-of-ball units sit on the golfer's facing side, so left-handed golfers must move the unit to the other side of the ball — plan a hitting area and mat that leave room on both sides.

What else a full simulator needs

  • An impact screen and enclosure (or a net for practice without course play) — see enclosures & screens
  • A short-throw projector matched to your screen shape — see the throw calculator
  • A hitting mat whose surface sits level with the unit, since it reads the ball from beside the tee — see mats & turf

Packages built around the TruGolf Launch Box

10 specialist-retailer packages in our catalog include this launch monitor, from $3,200 to $8,599.

See all 10 TruGolf Launch Box packages.

How it compares

ModelTrackingPlacementSpinRoom depthPrice seen
TruGolf Launch BoxCameraBeside the ballMeasured13.5–15.5 ft$2,999
Uneekor EYE MINICameraBeside the ballMeasured13.5–15.5 ft$2,999
Bushnell Golf Launch ProCameraBeside the ballMeasured13.5–15.5 ft$3,000
SkyTrak+ (ST+)Radar + cameraBeside the ballMeasured13.5–15.5 ft$1,995

Room depth uses the same FOREference method for every model, so the column is comparable; prices are the lowest listed by the lead seller on the date shown.

Fit check: TruGolf Launch Box

Worked out from the seller's published figures and our stated room method. Confirm against your space.

✓ Required? Check firsti Good to know
  • ✓Room depth13.5 ft minimum, 15.5 ft comfortable (1 ft screen gap + 8–10 ft ball to screen + 4.5 ft behind the ball for the backswing).
  • iDisplay deviceiOS, PC or Android
  • ?Balls & markersNot required; club: Not required
  • iSimulator softwareE6 Connect named in the listing.
  • ?Left-handed golfersSide-of-ball units sit on the golfer's facing side, so left-handed golfers must move the unit to the other side of the ball — plan a hitting area and mat that leave room on both sides.
  • iOutdoor useListed for indoor and outdoor use.

Specifications

Each figure is labelled with where it comes from. Numbered references link to the source list below.

Manufacturer storeRetailer listingFOREference calculationNot verified

Published specifications

Tracking technologyCamera-based[S1]Retailer listing
PlacementFloor unit beside the ball, facing the golfer[S1]Retailer listing
Indoor / outdoorIndoor and outdoor[S1]Retailer listing
Ball markingNot required[S1]Retailer listing
Club markingNot required[S1]Retailer listing
SpinMeasured directly[S1]Retailer listing
Shot delayAbout 1 second[S1]Retailer listing
DisplayiOS, PC or Android[S1]Retailer listing
SoftwareE6 Connect Home (PC and iOS)[S1]Retailer listing
Warranty1-year[S1]Retailer listing
PC requirementIntel i5, 8 GB RAM, NVIDIA GTX 1070 or equivalent[S1]Retailer listing
Ball data listedTotal distance, Carry distance, Ball speed, Spin axis, Vertical launch angle, Horizontal launch direction[S1]Retailer listing
Club data listedClubhead speed, Smash factor[S1]Retailer listing

FOREference calculations

Room depth (FOREference method)13.5 ft minimum · 15.5 ft comfortableFOREference calculation
Ceiling for a 5′10″ golfer (driver)9′ 2″FOREference calculation

Alternatives worth comparing

Where to buy

5 specialist sellers list this exact product. Prices were observed on 30 Sep 2026; confirm the current price, stock and included items before ordering.

SellerListed priceType
Rain or Shine Golf$2,999–$3,499Specialist retailer
PlayBetter$2,999–$3,499Specialist retailer
Shop Indoor Golf$2,999Specialist retailer
Golf Simulators Direct$2,999.99–$3,495Specialist retailer
Golf Bays$2,999Specialist retailer
$2,999Rain or Shine Golf listed price (configurations to $3,499) · seen 30 Sep 2026

Every link opens the product page for this exact model. We may earn a commission; it never changes what we publish. Disclosure

Questions buyers ask

Does the TruGolf Launch Box work with GSPro?
GSPro is not named in the listing we used. Check with the seller before relying on it.
How much room does the TruGolf Launch Box need?
Using the FOREference method, about 13.5 ft of depth at minimum and 15.5 ft to be comfortable, 11 ft of width for right-handed play (13 ft if left- and right-handed golfers share it), and roughly 9′ 2″ of ceiling for a 5′10″ golfer swinging a driver.
Does the TruGolf Launch Box need a subscription?
The listing does not state a subscription. Confirm what is included before you buy.
Does the TruGolf Launch Box measure spin?
Yes — the listing states spin is measured directly.
Can left-handed golfers use the TruGolf Launch Box?
Side-of-ball units sit on the golfer's facing side, so left-handed golfers must move the unit to the other side of the ball — plan a hitting area and mat that leave room on both sides.
Can the TruGolf Launch Box be used outdoors?
Yes — it is listed for indoor and outdoor use.

Sources and verification

  1. Rain or Shine Golf — TruGolf Launch Box — product page and specifications Retrieved 30 Sep 2026
  2. PlayBetter — TruGolf LaunchBox Golf Launch Monitor — product page Retrieved 30 Sep 2026
  3. Shop Indoor Golf — TruGolf Launch Box Launch Monitor — product page Retrieved 30 Sep 2026
  4. Golf Simulators Direct — TruGolf LaunchBox — product page Retrieved 30 Sep 2026
  5. Golf Bays — TruGolf LaunchBox Golf Launch Monitor — product page Retrieved 30 Sep 2026

FOREference has not tested this product hands-on. This reference is compiled from the sources above; our calculations are labelled and show their working. Last verified 30 Sep 2026. How we work